Personal Branding vs Corp Marketing

I’m wondering if there is a such a thing as fashionably late to something like blogging. I tried this once before on my work’s blog site, but that felt like the wrong place for the topics I found myself wanting to write about. I also think, and thought when I stopped writing, that a work-branded blog URL was the wrong place to build my personal brand – which is what I would have been doing with my blog. Other people, to tackle this branding problem, post their blogs to more than one URL (one corp and one personal). Others still have just stayed away from the corp branded blogging site. I never managed to do either.

I started my blog with the intention of using it to promote and support the project I was working on. Eventually I found my voice and ended up covering other things. I started to develop a personality on-line and then discovered that since I was writing on a corporate site, I felt that the topics were often inappropriate. And eventually I was saying nothing at all.

It’s been about 2 years since I stopped blogging. I am jumping back into the blogosphere again now. Hopefully with something to say.

I know a few things for sure:

  • I don’t want to blog about work, at least not in the product promotional way
  • I do want to blog about things that I am passionate about without censorship (self-imposed or otherwise)
  • This blog has an incredibly stupid name

I wonder where this will end up.

8 responses to “Personal Branding vs Corp Marketing

  1. where it’s going to end up?

    biggest blog ever. obviously.

  2. With most loyal following. Welcome!

  3. Someplace fun, and maybe even interesting… no maybe… ok… yes interesting. Engaging. Illuminating. Exciting.

    *ing

    Thats it! Welcome to blogging – hope you write more than me!

  4. Thanks for all the support. I’m going to get you guys some uniforms and write a cheer and it will so great…..

  5. Congrats on re-starting up a blog, and good luck. I’ve been trying (infrequently) to figure out what mine wants to be for about a year apparently.

  6. OK Mike. Let’s see if we can motivate each other.

  7. wordpress pple says your’s is one of the fastest growing blog…now, that is a grt thing is’nt

  8. noolo – I’ll take it. It’s a very nice compliment.