Are you funding my music habit?

I have done my part in the past to support the music industry. In the early 80s I slept out on the streets of New Haven and Hartford, CT for tickets to metal bands.

I bought albums and spent extra on the special, limited edition versions.

I bought my first CD player in 1985, an NAD system (which nostalgically I still have) and replaced my album and cassette collections with CDs.

I bought extended dance versions.

I went to Glastonbury Music Festival, twice. I’ve been to Austin City Limits Festival, and South by Southwest.

But like you, I don’t buy CDs anymore. Neither do I buy my music at $0.99 a pop. I listen to Pandora. And yes Pandora, “I am still listening”, but I am not looking, so your ads are wasted on me.

There is no way in hell I’m going to fork out $250+ for a ticket to try to see a band live only to end up with my face pressed into the sweaty back of some hairy stranger and watching the band on a large screen next to and above the stage I can’t even see.

I don’t buy t-shirts, mugs, posters, lunch boxes, or notebooks with my favorite bands’ faces emblazoned on them.

I go to small venues and see mostly unknown local bands, mostly for free.

If I am the typical music fan, the music industry will soon be looking for a bail out. In the meantime, someone is funding my music habit and I would just like to say thank you and keep it up kiddo, you’re doing a great job.

PS – I am going to save this blog post so that in 2 years I can do a cut and replace for films.

6 responses to “Are you funding my music habit?

  1. I too have found myself making the transition to knowing every song on every album I owned to just listening and enjoying. You’d never get me to big concert these days. Farmer Jason is my speed 😉

    Glad to have you back and bloggin’

  2. Sure those bands of yore really are good, but not a hundred bucks good. They’re like really sweet candy where when you’re there, everyone is busy convincing each other how *awesome* is is to be at the show. After it’s over you just kinda get a stomach ache. There are exceptions of course, but rarely will you experience the sort of body rush you crave from an uber-band live experience (sorry no umlauts). But….. to walk into a smallish club and experience a band your friend told you about last week whose name you can barely remember and marvel at the amazing talent (well sometimes) that can be had for a few bucks. You know, when the back of your neck gets sort of sparkly, priceless…

  3. Randy? Randy? Is that you? HEY! 🙂
    Love a sparkly neck. And you can get one just about any night of the week at The Continental Club on South Congress Ave here in Austin. One of the reasons we haven’t picked up and moved next door to you. 🙂

  4. Yup, it’s me. You guys are definitely on the list for a visit. I’ve heard a lot of great things about Austin, but I have to say that Asheville has a pretty hot little music scene too. Now… if I could only take advantage of that. The kids won’t be little forever I guess. Say hi to the family! (oops, I’m polluting your blog with personal chit chat, sorry). P.S. love your writing style.

  5. And another thing! I refuse to listen to a music source, i.e. radio, iPod etc, where I already know all the lyrics of more than 70% of the songs. Borrrrrriiiiinnnnnggggg. For a nifty work/thinking compatible music source try Groove Salad on somafm.com. Works for me.

  6. Interesting but lacking an international perspective. Check this out:
    http://www.pandora.com/restricted